Jacob Have I Loved

Jacob Have I Loved, by Katherine Paterson, takes place on Rass Island over a period of seven years. Rass is a small, little known island off the Chesapeake Bay, and about two-thirds of the island is covered in windy salt marsh full of cordgrass that hides tin, glass and other sharp things. Cordgrass alone can rip your skin so imagine how deadly it is with harmful stuff hidden in it. On Rass everybody makes money either by teaching or fishing for oysters, eeling or crabbing every day except Sunday.

Jacob Have I Loved is about the life of teenage girl Sara Louise Bradshaw. Louise has lived in her sister Caroline's shadow since the minute Caroline was born. After only a few minutes of attention, Caroline was born and all the attention was drawn to her from Louise. All Louise wants is to get out of Caroline's shadow and find something she is better at than Caroline.

"My sister was loved by every body but me- 
the one who should have loved her best."- back cover

  • Sara Louise Bradshaw - main character and twin sister of Caroline
  • Caroline Bradshaw - antagonist and twin sister to Louise
  • The Captain - Louise, Caroline and Call's friend
  • Call - friend to The Captain, Louise and Caroline

I liked this book and recommend it to people who like realistic fiction. Jacob Have I Loved is by award winning author Katherine Paterson. Also written by Paterson:  
  • Bridge to Teribithia, 1978 Newbery Medal winner
  • The Great Gilly Hopkins, Newbery Honor Book and 1979 National Book Award winner
  • The Master Puppeteer  1977 National Book Award winner
IL: MG - BL: 5.7 - AR Pts: 8.0

No comments:

Post a Comment